Choose your language:

The Bureau is a group of seven IWC Commissioners elected to oversee the work of the IWC during the intersessional period. It was created in 2012 when Commission meetings moved from annual to biennial, making the intersessional period longer. The Bureau is led by the current IWC Chair, and also includes the Vice-chair and the Chair of the Finance and Administration (F&A) Committee. The remaining membership varies, but aims to reflect and represent the diversity of the 88 member governments in terms of geographic spread and range of views held.

The Bureau members for 2018-20 are Slovenia (Chair), Republic of Guinea (Vice-chair), USA (Chair of  F&A), and Argentina, Ghana, St Lucia and the UK.

The group use a combination of meetings and teleconferences to strengthen the coordination and communication of the Commission’s work plan.    

The Bureau also aims to take the burden of process away from the biennial Commission meetings. It handles the pre-meeting preparation and provides increased support to the Chair. It also receives some of the financial and administrative information previously dealt with during annual Commission meetings. 

  • The Bureau's first in-person meeting was held in St Lucia in September 2013. To read the report of this and subsequent meetings, and related documents, please click here.