Change text size
Choose your language:

The International Whaling Commission (IWC)

The IWC is the global body charged with the conservation of whales and the management of whaling.  The IWC currently has 88 member governments from countries all over the world.  

The Commission's role has expanded since its establishment in 1946.  In addition to regulation of whaling, today's IWC works to address a wide range of conservation issues including bycatch and entanglement, ocean noise, pollution and debris, collision between whales and ships, and sustainable whale watching.

Recent Reports:


Indian Ocean's whale watching aims for gold standard in sustainability 

5 Mar 2020

Whale watching best practice in Sri Lanka and a spotlight on the Sultanate of Oman are amongst the highlights of a news round-up from the Sustainable Whale and Dolphin Tourism Network of the Indian Ocean Rim Ocean (IORA).  


Member Map

Click Here for more information on our members